Importing Classics / Bultaco saga

ambike

Dec 10, 2020
I've been motoring " hands-on " for over 50 years. Started young enough and still going strong.

Own more cycles than anyone needs.

Regardless, until late 2019 I'd only imported one cycle. In years past, I'd sold quite a few to foreign sources, but I never handled the logistics.

The message here involves a Bultaco with which I had months of trouble from shippers & local agents.

Attempts by sea or air had me enduring a full course of idiotic BS. Examples include an agent who'd already received all info & photos asking if the Bultaco motorcycle had a motor, to a broker at DFW demanding my full credit info even though I was trying to pay them with a Certified Check in advance. No, those Italians didn't need to stick their noses in my accounts. A Cert Check is not issued from any major bank like mine without funds being drawn immediately. The bank honors the check, not the individual party who's already paid.

Anyway, long story short was solved by contacting Schumacher a second time. I'd tried them months earlier but a communication error pushed me away. I'll take the blame for not working thru that. The second time hit pay dirt and they quickly had my crate on a ship from Auckland and headed for the States.

Bottom Line : Whether an import or export is needed, I'd recommend Schumacher above others. So far, so good !

Now the Bul isn't a dirt tracker, but it is a Bultaco so maybe it's interesting to a few ?? It's Ginger Molloy's TSS 125 factory mount raced during the 1968 season in FIM GP events. He finished a highly commendable 3rd overall.

Here's the machine :

Bultaco TSS 125, Molloy, 1.jpg

Matching sandcast cases :

Bultaco TSS 125, Molloy, 2, VIN.jpg

Last edited:
Reactions: RGXR

ambike

Dec 10, 2020
Thanks !

Just for grins here's a vid showing Ginger's line-up.

His bikes begin at : 31 and it runs plenty fast. So, changing the setting speed to its slowest rate helps.